Regaining hope – OMS

As a self-professed google searching geek/researcher, it did not take me long to come across Professor George Jelinek’s website overcomingmultiplesclerosis.org. Diagnosed with MS in 1999, Professor Jelinek has gone 14 years without relapse. When you have a chronic disease like MS and your neurologist tells you there is nothing you can do, hearing that someone has travelled the path before you and remained healthy gets your attention. When someone with a medical background, who has witnessed the ugly tentacles of MS drag his mother to incapacity and suicide you take an interest in what they have to say.

It seems to happen quite a lot in life, you can be trundling along unaware of something then when it is related to you,  wherever you look there it is! This was the case with MS and Professor Jelinek.  Soon after finding his website I found this Australian appear in the UK Daily Mail (link here).

The Professor after his diagnosis had poured his energy into researching what MS was, what causes it and more importantly how to overcome it. I downloaded his book via amazon and absorbed its text within a week.

It was revitalising to discover more about the disease and learning that many people were living fulfilling lives, free from the usual disabilities of the illness. I felt like I had a new understanding of the condition which for me was extremely empowering.  In contrast to what I had heard from my neurologist, there seemed to be lots of lifestyle changes I could adopt if willing to do so. This brought back some memories of what the Moorfields ophthalmologist told me – I went along to him the day after my neurologist meeting for the glaucomar examination my health insurance had already approved. He told me that the word for doctor comes from the latin docēre which means to teach/advise and that I should treat doctors in this way. Listening to their advise and making your own choices. A 10 minute consultation is one thing, but the condition is with the individual for the rest of their life.

The lifestyle changes are radical, but so is the descent of multiple sclerosis. No meat, no dairy, as little saturated fat as possible, combined with vitamins and meditation every day. Through the inspiration and hard work of the pathfinder, Professor Jelinek,  there is now real hope for everyone who is inflicted with MS. Over the coming weeks I will go through each pillar in more detail, for those wanting to explore the book for themselves, here is a referral link , any purchases via this link will go to the maintenance of this site.

2 comments

  1. I couldn’t agree more with your observation about the role of a doctor is to advice and teach. It is the job of the patient to make the choice that makes sense for us. As someone recently diagnosed with MS, I have been amazed by the unwillingness of some neurologists to explain what is going on with MS. I asked a few times and got the standard answer: MS is demyelination of the CNS….it is such a variable disease that it is hard to explain. (both non-answers, in my mind)

    The doom and gloom prognosis presented to me was very discouraging. I was told that I should expect to walking with a cane within 5 years and to expect needing a wheelchair by the time I was in my late 50’s. (To be exact, the neuro told me that “100% of women with MS enter the progressive phase by the age of 55. After that it was just a matter of time before disability set in.” I was 54 at that time!)

    It wasn’t until I started to do my own research that I found information that was more encouraging: I first found information about the Swank diet, then the Best Bet diet, the Brazil Vitamin D program, Montel Williams and his green juicing approach, Dr. Terry Wahl, Dr. McDougal, and Rosemary with her YouHealYou program…. the list seemed endless! I found OMS and it was the most convincing and best researched. I have been following Dr. Jelinek’s recommendations since January 2013 and the results are simply amazing! On my 55th birthday (Feb 2014), I walked over 15 km with my two dogs on the beaches of Vancouver Island (rocky and rugged!) and felt great!

    Claire 🙂

    1. Hey Claire, thank you for taking the time to comment. Your experience with your neurologist is all too familiar and seems to be the standard attitude across the discipline. I find it hard to understand the reluctance of those doctors who have taken oaths to preserve the health of their patients to be so closed to the holistic lifestyles which seem to offer tangible benefits to those who adopt them. This is clearly an under-researched area and seems against the logic of reason. I don’t want to believe that academics can be so corrupted by the pharmaceutical industry and hope more research will be done into the importance of diet and health.

      I wish you a healthy and fulfilling future.

Leave a Reply

